Skip to main content
The '''Progressive Conservative Party of Canada''' () ('''PC''') was a List of federal political parties in Canada|federal political party in Canada with a centre-right stance on economic issues and, after the 1970s, a centrism|centrist stance on social issues. Members of the party were unofficially known as Tory|Tories. The party began as the Conservative Party of Canada (1867–1942)|Conservative Party of Canada in 1867, becoming Canada's first governing party under John A. Macdonald|Sir John A. Macdonald, and for years was either the governing party of Canada or the largest opposition party. The party changed its name to the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada in December 1942. In 2003, the party membership voted to dissolve the party and merge with the Canadian Alliance to form the modern-day Conservative Party of Canada. One member of the Senate of Canada, Elaine McCoy, sat as an "Independent...
Native nameParti progressiste-conservateur du Canada
subheaderFormer federal party
LogoFile:Parti PC Party Canada 1996.svg|200px
Leader| president =
Chairman| chairperson =
Spokesperson| leader1_title =
Foundation{{Start date|1942|12|10}}
Dissolution{{Start date|2003|12|7}}
Merger| split =
PredecessorConservative Party of Canada (1867–1942)|Conservative Party of Canada (1867)
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid